On Wednesday evening the Waihi Golf Club held their 117<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting in the clubrooms with a good attendance of members.

After a very successful 2023 year despite the weather, Daryll Denyer was returned as the club President, as was Karen Roche the Vice-President. A ballot for the four Management Committee positions saw four new Members elected. They are, Gary Dunning, Wendy Matutinovich, Brian Baynes, and Jill Morrison.

At the end of general business, Rodger Bagshaw was elected as a Life Member of the Club. A short resume of his nomination letter reads: Rodger Bagshaw joined the Club in 1977, and apart from two years when his children were well involved with sport, has been an active Club member. He was elected to the management committee in 2012, and was Course convenor for 3 years, Vice-President 2014 and 2015, and Club President 2016 to 2018. He has been a generous benefactor to the Club donating many items to the Club.

In 2015 he found sponsorship for the Waihi Pairs two-day tournament, which he still runs, together with his original Committee. After trying to take a step back, he has now been the Club Scribe for the past two years, and is also now entering his third year as the Vets Captain. He is also a member of the Waikato Eagles Golfing Society.

TUESDAY – NINE HOLE: A fine day saw the first round of the Summer Cup being played. The haggle of the day was a nett medal round, and the winner was Val McLoughlin with a fine 31 nett. Next back on 36 was Mandy Piper, with Lynda Thomson with 37, and Lorraine Meyer with 38.

WEDNESDAY LADIES: Held a stableford haggle this week, with Jenny O'Dwyer winning with 39 points, ahead of Denise Donald on 38, and Wendy Matutinovich on 36. A longest putt competition on the 18<sup>th</sup> was also won by Jenny O'Dwyer.

THURSDAY MONTHLY MEAT PACK TOURNAMENT: Great conditions greeted the 68 players in this month's tournament. The gross winner was Allen Smith with a great gross 70, playing of a 4 handicap. The Nett winner was Craig Pooley who came home with a memorable 64 nett, while Willie Lynch managed to amass 41 stableford points. With the rest of the prizes being on stableford, In Division 1, there were four runners-up on 37 points, with they being Logan Phillips, Andy Roche, Brian Baynes, and Graeme Culton. Rob Page and Allen Sarjant both had 36. In Division 2, Ted Murray scrapped in with 40 points, with Mark Hope and Rhys Miller next on 39. John Drent, Ken Bartels, and Mark Mora all had 38 points.

SATURDAY LADIES: A small field of ladies contested the fourth round of the Summer Cup. The day's winner was Megan Jowsey with a nett 70, with Jill Morrison next with 74. Bev Ireland was third with 76.

SATURDAY MEN: It was also a small field that contested the morning stableford haggle. The top scorer was Eddie Bruce with a good 40 points, finishing one ahead of Harry Shepherd on 39. Peter Smith had 37 points, then it was back to John Giffney and Graham O'Dwyer on 34. Tim Parish and Allen Smith both has 33 points.

There was a better sized field contesting the afternoon haggle. Winning on a countback from Richard Taitoko with 40 points was Craig Sandlant, with Dwayne O'Flaherty one point further back on 39. Back on 36 points were Rob Page, Jason Baldwin, Terry Gerbich, David P. Campbell, and Malcolm Coldicutt. Then Ian Diver, Rex Knight, and Chris Pilmer all finished with 35 points. Mr "Greedy" Paul Williams recorded three two's, which included one on hole eleven.