NINETH EDITION OF THE WAIHI TRIPLE PAIRS TOURNAMENT HELD ON THE WEEKEND

The BARFOOT & THOMSON Sponsored WAIHI TRIPLE PAIRS TOURNAMENT was held over the weekend. Ninety players from various parts of the North Island came and enjoyed the three-round, two-day event. The Greens Staff had produced a well-presented course, and the organising committee appreciated the assistance of the management and staff.

On Saturday morning the competition was Canadian foresomes which produced some good scoring, but horrendous winds in the afternoon when playing the Scottish forsomes created many difficulties making a good score extremely difficult. Sunday for the four ball best ball round was played in ideal conditions with no sign of the forecasted showers. The tournament was played in two divisions, with men's pairs, and mixed pairs,

The winners of the tournament overall were David and Liz Seager of the Ngahinepouri Club with a total score of 212.

Winners of the Men's Division were Rob Morrison/Vince Jones (213), with second Ethan Seymour/Blake Glidden (215), and third Paul Williams/Jesse Jensen (216), then Alex Standfield/John Drent (216)

Winners of the mixed division were Hellen & Brian Baynes (213), with second Michelle Libby/Peter Ramsey (216), third was Brian & Jan Robinson (218), then Adele Gunning/Ken Purcell (219)

MONDAY VETS: After a wet night, and heavy cloud, 19 vets ventured out and were caught in several heavy and thankfully short showers. The competition was for the least number of putts for the round. Earle White proved to be the best with only 27 putts, next were Allen Sarjant and Rae Brown with 31, then Ken Purcell with 32. Wendy Matutinovich and Adele Gunning both had 33 putts.

NINE HOLE TUESDAY: The Finals of the Nine Hole Stroke Play Championships were played, and the 2024 Champions are Ladies Div One: Liz Wylie, and in Div Two: Lynda Thomson. Men's Champion is John Twemlow. The day's haggle was a Stableford, and coming out with the best score was Nicola Pooley with 21 points, followed by Helen Brady with 20. Jill Morrison was next with 19, the Rex Smith and Peter Rae, both having 18 points. then Neil Ritchie on 17.

WEDNESDAY LADIES: The changeable spring weather impacted greatly for the ladies when 75% of the field tossed it in and failed to finish. Playing through the cold showers and chilling wind, Jill Morrison and Desley Rosevear did well to finish with 35 points, with Sarah Tomsett next with 29.

THURSDAY MEN: The highlight of the Morning Haggle was Allen Sarjant scoring a Hole in One on the 15th hole. It is Allen's second hole-n-one achievement. The haggle was won by the "hot running" Earle White with 37 points, with Pete Rowe and Rodger Bagshaw next with 36 points. Following them was Allen Sarjant and Jim Powell with 35, then Ted Murray and Peter Wright with 34 points. The Afternoon Haggle saw Howard Anderson prevail with 39 points, one shot overhead of John Taylor and Alex (smack-em) Teesdale with 38. Bill Young and David P. Campbell both had 36, with Wayne Brierley, Pete Spiers, Craig Pooley, Damian Dunlop, and Eddie Evans, all with 35 points.

Rodger Bagshaw



Above: Helen Baynes and Brian Baynes Mixed Division Winners. Below: Liz Seager and David Seager Overall Winners

