CHAMIONSHIP FINALS COMPLETES A VERY BUSY WEEK FOR WAIHI GOLF

CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS: The finals of Club Championships were played on Sunday in perfect conditions. Played over 36 holes the senior men's division was won by Chad Meyer over Murray Gutry 6/5, but in what was probably the match of the day Richard Taitoko and Rhys Peden were tied after 36 holes, with Richard Taitoko taking the title on the extra (37th) hole. The junior men proved an easy win for Norn Sanderson 9/8 over Greg Bundle. The Ladies silver division was won by Michelle Libby over Jackie Robson 8/6, while the lady's bronze 1, was won by Susan Mustard 9/8 over Sally Grindlay. The Nine Hole titles were contested over nine holes, and the Lady's title was won by Liz Wylie over Lorraine Meyer. The Men's title was taken out by John Twemlow defeating John Vautier.

NINE HOLE OPEN TOURNAMENT: On Friday (13th) the Nine Hole Section held a well-attended open Tournament, with visiting players from twelve other clubs. The weather and course conditions were ideal, and the prizes were generously donated by Waihi and Waihi Beach businesses. The Ladies played in two divisions, with the men in one division.

The winner in the ladies Division One, was Jan Ferguson, and in Division Two Margaret Meldrum took the honours. In the Men's Division it was John Twenlow that won the division. The only two recorded for the tournament was recorded by John Mangu.

MONDAY VETS: The competition was a bit different this week with players only allowed to have five clubs in their bags. Scoring was on Stableford, and the best score was a bit overwhelming with Brian Robinson coming in with 43 points! He obviously doesn't need to have a full set. Second with a good 37 points was Norm Sanderson, with John Libby next with 36. David Lockton had 35, and Roger Gudsell 34, while Helen Baynes, and Willie Lynch finished with 33 points.

TUESDAY NINE HOLE: A slightly smaller field this week as it is only three days to their open Tournament. Best score in the haggle was Michelle Bonnici with 22 points, with John Vautier and Peter Rae both having 21. Lynda Thomson had 20 points, and John Twemlow 17.

WEDNESDAY LADIES: The competition of the day was a nett medal, and winning with an excellent round was Tamara Morris with a 65 nett. Ten shots back were Jill Morrison and Sarah Tomsett each with 75 nett. All with 76 were Desley Rosevear, Mavis Bruce, and Edna Connolly, then Di Lockwood with 77. Tamara Morris also won the Hidden Holes with 9 points.

THURSDAY MEN: The fine weather with westerly winds continues for the week, and in the Morning Haggle, It was the wily Bill Tiffin who topped the field with 38 points, with Rodger Bagshaw coming in next with 37 points. Mark Mora had 36, and the ever-present Doug Ferguson next with 35. John Giffney scored 33 points, while Tom Rowbotham and Peter Hewitt had 32. Despite coming 27th in the field Ted Murray scored the only two!

In the good-sized Afternoon Haggle, David Morris registered the best score with 39 points, while Nigel Sanderson, Peter Dagg, Ron Arthur, and Craig Pooley all had 37 points. Peter Spiers and Chris Spiers both had 35 points, with Wilson McGillivary had 34. With 33 points were Kelly Exelby and Damian Dunlop.

SATURDAY LADIES: In the nett haggle it was Liz Hale with a good 67 nett that was the winner over Karen Roche on 71. Next was Shoneen Dunning with 75, followed by the "quiet one" Kaylene Croker with 77. The Hidden Holes were shared by Liz Hale and Karen Roche with both having 6 points.

SATURDAY MEN: The weather stayed dry, apart from one drizzle patch, for the Morning Haggle, in which Ken Mustard and John Giffney with 37 points headed the field. They were followed by Rob

Page, Graham O'Dwyer, David Seager (Ngahinepouri), and Allen Sarjant all with 36 points. Earle White scored the only two.

Conditions remained similar for the Afternoon Haggle where Wayne Brierley and Dave Oliver topper the field with 37 points each. Next was Mark Bryant with 36, then Peter Spiers and Logan Phillips both with 34. With 33 points were Mark Tomsett, Nigel Sanderson, Bill Young, and David P. Campbell.

Rodger Bagshaw



Above: The Nine Hole Tournament Prizegiving. Bellow our 2024 Club Matchplay Champions.

